so fancy…..

….not me but the new mouldings I have in my shop!!

I have a friend who has been living in the U.K. for the past ten years and has come back to Poland.  She is also a painting fanatic and has started making decorative mouldings.

They are fantastic.  They are made from resin and after painting they look completely real- like a piece of carved wood.  So….I only have three styles at the moment- but I have decided to give a mini tutorial.

First of all- select a moulding.  This is the hardest part because there are so many nice ones- make certain it works with the style of furniture.

****This is really important when painting furniture and a really important design tip. When painting/renovating an old piece of furniture- make sure what  you are adding and the colours you are painting work with the style of furniture.  Here is an example:

IMG_2362

This piece of furniture is a reproduction- even still it is important to follow the style when painting.  There is no way this piece, with all of its scrolly decorative details would suit a dark colour like black or red or even a dark blue.  This is a very feminine piece and soft colours are needed- a delicate grey, pink or a baby blue.  I used Pure&Original “Tin Kettle” with white wax.  The inside I painted a darker pink but all the colours are soft and suit the style of furniture.  The same rules apply with mouldings- make sure they work with the style of furniture- adding a scrolled moulding on to the drawers of a piece from Ikea will stand out like a sore thumb.  Anyway…..

So after you decide which moulding- give the back of it a quick sand so that it has a bit of texture- and also to the place on the furniture where it is being glued to.

IMG_2342

Then apply the glue to the moulding (I did it with a brush to make sure I got it on all the little scrolls)IMG_2343

Then  apply it where you want it and just to ensure it doesn’t move around use a piece of painters tape to hold it in place.IMG_2344

Once the glue has dried….you are ready to paint.  I think this colour was Tin Kettle, I don’t remember!IMG_2345

I painted with two coats.IMG_2346

And if this is the look you are happy with- then you are done.  I wanted to highlight the details so I dry brushed white on to the mouldings.IMG_2347

I also did a bit around the shape of it- just so it stands out.IMG_2348

Next I applied gold size and transfer to give it a little extra….IMG_2350IMG_2351

Why stop there?

IMG_2353

Next I added a layer of clear wax.  The Fiddes wax is the colour of beeswax but it does actually go on clear.IMG_2354

Then I applied a touch of dark wax just to highlight the details.IMG_2355

Any spots with too much dark wax I just lighted with the clear….and that was it!IMG_2356IMG_2357IMG_2358IMG_2359

I guess I should have turned these photos around!!  But you get the idea.  I just did these on a  piece of wood to display some options when painting.  There are so many possibilities with these resin mouldings.

The lady that makes them has also done a few tests with them- it is possible to heat the mouldings so that you can bend it on to something.  You can do it with a hair dryer or even in the microwave.  She put hers into the microwave for a few seconds then shaped it on to a vase.  There is even a possibility of bending a longer one so it fits on to a corner.  I can’t advise on any of these because I haven’t tried it…..but there are a few youtube videos out there.

How can something so small have such a big impact on a piece of furniture?!

http___signatures.mylivesignature.com_54494_104_F782A1BE5FF64A85603F554A8FE2AA63

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “so fancy…..

      1. hmmm…..we usually go to BC for our summer holiday but we went this year for xmas instead. I can send it to you, no problem. In Canadian dollars- the three I have at the moment are 20, 20 and 8 $ each plus the cost of shipping- which is usually pretty decent compared to Canada post. We are working on new styles also but at the moment they are not ready.

Leave a Reply

