Scraps of linen

I am a fabric hoarder.  I especially like linen.  And in my opinion Polish linen is some of the best out there.

I started with this very ugly chair:

IMG_7324_2

And loads of scraps.

So I had the idea of sewing a patchwork slipcover but on a larger scale!

So I measured and sewed….

IMG_7325_2

IMG_7327

And made sure the cover fit really well.

And then I added a little box pleat trim to finish it off.

IMG_7329

IMG_7335_2

And then I painted the legs and this happened:

IMG_7337

IMG_7338_2

IMG_7336_2

IMG_7340

This is one of the hazards of painting old furniture.  You simply never know what you are going to get.  I painted the wood with Old White and red leached through.  Not sure what it is exactly- probably from the dark brown stain.

So I tried to seal the colour in with lacquer and repainted with Country Grey but it still showed through- not as much but you can still see the red.

IMG_7341

IMG_7343

 

IMG_7345_2

 

And this is the result!

IMG_7346

 

In the close up you can still see the red coming through the Country Grey but I am OK with it- there is a red stripe in the linen so it doesn’t actually look like a mistake.

IMG_7354

IMG_7358

 

And I think the pleating adds a cute detail…..now I only have three more to sew!

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Scraps of linen

Leave a Reply

