Old Linen and new linen.

If you are familiar with Chalk Paint you will know that the European countries have a few colours not on the North American palette.  Original is one of them.  I even used to have a few different colours than  England because there used to be a factory in Belgium that made the paint for mainland Europe.  The factory in Belgium has since closed so now all of us in Europe get our paint from Oxford.  But I still have a few pots of paint from the old factory.  Old Linen is one of them.

This is a great colour.  It is a darker version of Country Grey.  I thought this style of chair would be super in Old Linen.  Of course it is a reproduction with a mixture of styles–just in need of an update.

IMG_6771_2

IMG_6772

So my little helper got to work with the brush.

IMG_6774

 

Two coats of Old Linen hid the orangey oak colour.

IMG_6778

While the chair was drying I removed the staples on the chair seat using this great tool.  It makes life so much easier.

IMG_6779

And then once the old fabric was taken off I replaced it with this gorgeous new Polish linen that has a vintagey grain sack feel to it.

IMG_6780

While my little helper did the waxing!

I then lightly distressed with 150 grit sandpaper added another coat of wax….and this is the final result!!

IMG_6781

 

 

IMG_6785

IMG_6788

 

IMG_6790_2

 

The shape of the chair is more apparent now- even showing the cute scrolling at the bottom–and most importantly hiding the awful orangey colour of the oak.

6 thoughts on “Old Linen and new linen.

  1. The transformation came out just perfect. You created the ideal shade that matches the wall. Everything from the chalk paint exudes a very calming atmosphere.

    1. thanks! this isn’t actually staying in my house!! It is going to my shop….if you can imagine my style is not French country it is actually a more modern/retro style, but lucky for me I have a place where I can paint furniture in any style!!

Leave a Reply

