the chair continued…

Almost finished!  I have one minor detail to finish up but it is pretty much complete!

So I went to the upholstery wholesalers and picked up some lovely stuff needed.  Namely springs.  And then away I went.

I am not an expert so I wouldn’t do a tutorial on this, the experts usually post their techniques on youtube or similar so we can all be in awe of their mad skills!

First I installed the springs and tied them down.

IMG_5905

This is the fussiest part.  They need to be tied down in all directions including the diagonal.  The also need to be fixed to the webbing.IMG_5906

So once that part is complete the experts usually add a layer of muslin to keep everything in place.  I skipped this step on purpose.  There is limited staple space on this chair and I needed to use it wisely.  So my next step was a layer of coconut.  Yes coconut.  Old school is horse hair but coconut is, in my opinion a bit better.  It is thicker.  And then I softened the edges with batting.IMG_5907

There is also a full layer of batting on top of the coconut husks and then a layer of felt.  Then on top of that is another layer of batting.IMG_5908

Then the fabric was stapled down.
IMG_5909

IMG_5910

IMG_5911

The next step after all the stapling is to trim off the excess.  Then I hot glue trim to hide the staples.

IMG_5912

I just notice now looking at the photos that the trim looks a bit wonky!  In person it isn’t so apparent.  And luckily it kind of adds to the shabby/imperfect feel of the chair.IMG_5913

IMG_5914

 

 

And that is all there is to it!  I am by no means a star with the upholstery but this is a medium difficulty project and there are loads of videos out there on the web to talk you through it.  The last step is covering the seat webbing with a piece of fabric to hide all the insides.

 

One thought on “the chair continued…

  1. Sherri- your chair turned out awesome! The spring work you did looks like a lot of work and broken fingernails, lol. Thanks for sharing. Blessings Paula Lusk

Leave a Reply

