Working on a Louis chair

This is my current project….not quite done, as you can see!  I am at a stand still until tomorrow morning.  I will be heading out bright and early to the other side of Warsaw to pick up some springs and other necessary materials for small upholstery projects.

IMG_5900

This chair has actually been sitting in my shop for a very long time.  I bought it and striped the fabric and other inside materials out but was disappointed to find that somebody did a half hearted repair.  There were no springs in the seat just layers of foam.  So I painted it up and had the idea of hanging it on the outside of my shop but my carpenter, who thinks I am a little crazy, didn’t think it was a good idea.

Then last week it was spied by an Irish lady who bought it.  She chose the  linen fabric from a pile I have and away I went.  The top portion was not hard- a layer of cardboard and a layer of foam between fabric—the seat is the problem.  It needs springs and normally when I have a chair like this I reuse the old “guts” of the chair…..but the “guts” of this chair were removed.

It does have nice details in the carvings and a simple distressing really highlights this.  The colour is country grey finished with clear wax.

IMG_5904

IMG_5903

IMG_5902

IMG_5901

On my upholstery shopping list is trim to hide the staples, webbing for the seat, springs, a natural fiber layer (coconut) and probably some string.

Hopefully tomorrow this lovely little chair will be done.

Fingers crossed!

 

2 thoughts on “Working on a Louis chair

  1. I have 2 of these chairs. I have plans to reupholster 1 or both. I really like your fabric choice. I don’t usually have a problem picking fabric, but, I bought a new sofa and a chair that have distinct pattens, your choice has really caught my attention.
    Thanks for sharing. Blessings Paula Lusk

Leave a Reply

