What about the inside?

I know a lot of people that paint furniture don’t really see the point of painting the inside of a piece of furniture.  Personally, I like it.  It finishes the piece off so that it doesn’t look as though it was forgotten.

Annie Sloan writes a lot about  “outside it is quiet, inside it is a riot”  in her books, meaning give the inside a bit of wow!  I like this perspective….but it doesn’t come without its challenges!

I paint a lot of furniture for expats who live in Poland for a short time and then they are on to their next location.  So at this moment, I am painting loads of furniture for those who are getting ready to pack it up at the end of the school year.

This next piece is a very long sideboard that is made from solid teak.

(sorry no before photo!)

Teak is a wood that is typically left in its natural state.  It has a very high oil content which makes it great for outdoor furniture and we see a lot of it in Scandinavian modern furniture….left natural.

But if you don’t like natural teak  Annie Sloan Chalk Paint™ can do the job!  A little extra time is needed, though.

I previously painted a teak outdoor furniture set that was left out and really had dried out.  This indoor piece still has the natural oils so once I painted with one coat of Old White, some of the oils starting leaching through.

All you need to do is paint one coat with chalk paint then seal it with either a varnish or a lacquer, then paint again.  This should do the job.  If you are still seeing the oil leach through—-a darker colour may be necessary.  And sometimes that is all we can do…suggest a darker colour.

So, after painting and distressing I pondered the inside.  None of the natural oils had worn away so had I painted the inside with a solid coat of Old White- it would have looked a mess.

A few months ago I was looking through some of the North American stockists pages and came across a simple chest of drawers with a huge wow factor.
d9a69f6f8dcff5f705ef67038e1b1b39

This is in fact the very one!  Isn’t it great!

So taking this as inspiration I thought I would finish the inside of the sideboard with a stencil—in Old White.

Basically, I didn’t want to paint the inside doors and drawers because I was worried about the leaching of the oil- but a stencil may not show it sow clearly.

So I gave it a try!  And it worked.

IMG_5877

 

IMG_5878

What is so great about stenciling the inside is that it doesn’t have to be perfect.

IMG_5879

My shop is so crowded with furniture…so I am actually taking this photo while standing outside….hence, no staging!
IMG_5880

IMG_5885

It is just enough to connect the solid white with the solid teak and make it appear as though it isn’t an afterthought.

IMG_5886

IMG_5889

And of course it puts a smile on my face!

6 thoughts on “What about the inside?

  1. I love it! I’m about to move an old, poorly painted armoire into a central entrance, doing this inside the doors will be just what it needs.

  2. Do you think using a product like Klitz prior to using the chalk paint would stop the oil from leeching through?

Leave a Reply

