Long time….

It wasn’t intentional, not posting for a long time.  But life has a funny way of getting in the way of…well, life.  I started this blog with the intent of posting as much as I could and for the past month and a half I haven’t felt that any of my recent works were “blogworthy”.

I have been taking photos of what I have been doing but haven’t managed to organize them in to a proper write up.

So today I was going through some of my recent works and came across this:

IMG_0985Oh yes, it is ugly.  I think the designer that brought it in was embarrassed. I told her that most of the stuff in my shop arrives quite ugly and leaves looking beautiful….kind of like the ugly duckling (a swan is just waiting to be revealed.)

She already had the fabric and the colour choice- I just had to make the magic happen. 🙂

So, obviously I removed the fabric.  And the result was this:

IMG_0986And then I painted the wood frame with Annie Sloan Chalk Paint in Pure.  And it looked like this:

IMG_0987The designer/client didn’t want a lot of distressing on this pieces….In my humble opinion, Pure is not a colour that should be distressed.  It is a bright bright white.  It is a modern colour- modern furniture has clean simple lines and there is no distressing…..but, I did do a bit on some of the details around the back.

IMG_0988

 

It always amazes me how details get lost in dark wood and after painting they come to life!

Once painted, waxed and slightly distressed in some spots–I started with the upholstery.  When I re upholster, I try and re use as much as I can.  If something is damaged or smells – I will replace it, but this chair was in pretty good shape.  The burlap and straw was all original and there were no problems with it.

The designer had given me a lovely pale blue fabric with a simple geometric shape to it and it had loads of texture, kind of like a raw silk.

IMG_0989I did the back first, making sure everything was even and without lumps.

IMG_0990I stapled the fabric to the frame leaving a little excess that would be covered in trim.

IMG_0991

 

And…..I will finish the rest tomorrow!  But it looks good so far, right?

 

Leave a Reply

