Dining table…take two.

 

 

 

 

I have decided that I am a furniture junkie.  I think it is a good thing.

I while ago I bought a big harvest table with really ugly legs.  I sawed the legs down and painted them with the intent of them being temporary.  I was hoping to find new legs that would work well with the giant slab of oak that the table top is made from.  I had a few ideas- I wanted some sort of metal- almost an industrial loft kind of feel but I couldn’t find anything to work with my concept.  So the old table stayed.  There really was nothing wrong with it- just its legs.  They drove me crazy because our room is open concept but the dining area is one step up from the living area- so I always have a full view of exactly what was driving me crazy about the legs.

If you look in this photo of the old table- the part where the legs hold up the top seems to be cut short- like there are two chunks missing out of the side.  When you sit at the same level- you barely notice this but because of the level issue in my house…..I was going insane.

Anyway, I have been stalking Allegro (Polish ebay) and have been watching a table for about five weeks but didn’t think it would be wise to buy such a big table at this moment.

Then we signed the lease for my new shop space.  It is a different one than we originally looked at.  This one is so much better.  Better everything.  I only need to paint the inside and hang a sign and of course arrange everything- but the location is super also.

So now that I have a much larger space I plan on offering more courses on painting with Annie Sloan Chalk Paint™- I have a student that works for me and we plan on organizing groups in Polish- so he will be able to help me with any language issues I have…….So I need a bigger table.  Perfect.  I have just found my reason to buy the harvest table I have been stalking.

And here it is.  I paid 300 pln for the table- 100 of that was the cost of transport so the actual table itself was about 60 dollars.  It works so much better in our space.  I love the legs and I love the open legs which give the illusion of more space.

 

 

My house is not matchy matchy- I have very eclectic tastes- so this fits in perfectly.  I am just thrilled!

Now I just need to move into the new space…..my garage is filled to its max!

 

Leave a Reply

