A painted sign

Hello!

I am back…to the best of my ability when summer is here!

I have loads of work, lots of clients—business is good!

I just completed a little sign for one of my lovely English clients–easy peasy!

She wanted the words Do zobaczenia on a sign so she could hang it on her gate.  Do zobaczenia means “see you” in Polish.

So I started with an old piece of wood I had lying around….doesn’t everybody have old pieces of wood lying around??  Now you know what you can do with them!!

I cut it to size then painted it Duck Egg Blue.  I just got a new stencil in the mail and wanted to try it out on this sign.  So I mixed some Duck Egg with a bit of Old White to lighten the colour slightly and then used the stencil on top of the Duck Egg to give it this effect:

Then, using tracing paper, I traced out the letters on to the sign and painted them in Old white.

I then sanded.  Normally with Annie Sloan Chalk Paint ™ you sand after the first coat of wax.  I really wanted the painted letters to be quite faint to give the sign a more aged look so I sanded until I could see the blue through the white.  Then I waxed with clear wax, drilled two holes and then used string so it would hang.

Pretty cute, eh!  I have done quite a few of these  and they are a great way to use wood scraps.

And of course I will be using this tone on tone technique with the stencil on a piece of furniture!!  That should be coming soon…fingers crossed!

2 thoughts on “A painted sign

Leave a Reply

