How to paint with Annie Sloan’s Chalk paint….and a donation for the Christmas bazaar.

It seems as though many many people would love to use this paint (with good reason!)  but there are also many that are not sure how to use it.  This is how to do it:

The first step is deciding on the colour.  This is the hardest part.  There are so many beautiful colours to choose from.  My personal favourites are Country Grey, Amsterdam Green, Old Linen….actually I love them all!

After this decision has been made- give the can a good shaking.  Turn it upside down and all around making sure that the paint is thoroughly mixed.  This paint has organic materials in it and settling occurs- so shake it well.

Next step:  paint directly on the surface!  seriously!  This includes old paints, varnishes and lacquers as well as old waxes.  Annie Sloan’s Chalk paint will adhere to many surfaces including metal, concrete, bricks and melamine.  If in doubt do a test spot on your surface to see if it sticks.

This is after one coat.

This is after two coats.

The first coat is White Linen and the second coat is Old Linen.

I want to create a layered paint effect and a heavy distressing.

So after the paint has dried the next step is to wax it.  You read this right- apply a thin layer of clear wax.

Once the wax has dried sand lightly with a fine grit sand paper.  120 grit is about right.  What will happen is that the wax where you are distressing will kind of ball up and roll off.  The finish becomes distressed but also very smooth to the touch.

Next add a second layer of thin wax.  This is where the darker wax can be used to give the furniture a more aged effect in certain spots.  Then buff to the desired shine.

This piece that I am working on is a donation from me to my daughters’ school Christmas bazaar.  There will be an auction and the money goes to an orphanage in Poland.

This is the before:

This is the after:

I am kind of on the fence about it.  I think it is much better than the before but I am not certain.  I actually think that had I painted the stripes horizontally it would work better for me but I do think that the people in the auction will like it.  So, my fingers are crossed.

54 thoughts on “How to paint with Annie Sloan’s Chalk paint….and a donation for the Christmas bazaar.

  1. It´s really lovely. I hope you raise lots of money for the charity with this.
    (you know, I prefer to sand the paint before I wax … the sand paper gets less gooey and I kind of like the satisfaction of a bit of filing dust…just a bit mind).
    Have a lovely weekend.
    //Sarah in Sweden

  2. I love this piece! The stripes are perfect! So unexpected! I also love that you are helping get the word out about how to use ASCP! Most people don’t give it the chance or look @ the pricetag and freak out! I peronally love it and it can be used so many ways that regular paint can’t even compare to it! (I think you meant Antibes Green, not Amsterdam Green 🙂

  3. Sandi @ Making It Homey said… I think it turned out beautiful. I really love the two toned colors you put together, they look so rich. Great Job.

  4. it is perfect, I personally love the stripes and your color choices, and I think I will use it for inspiration on a piece I am about to paint if that is ok with you! Thank you!

  5. What a beautiful transformation! Don’t be on the fence about it, it’s gorgeous!! Hope you are able to raise a lot of money! Thanks for the tutorial on the paint too, I’ve read about so many people using it but I wasn’t sure what all the hype was about 🙂

  6. What an awesome post! Thank you so much for sharing, so many people would love to see this, I am featuring it tomorrow at my link party. 🙂

  7. Im confused by the paint names you used. I have all the ASCP colors and don’t have nor have I heard of new linen or old linen. Did you use a different paint?

    1. no I didn’t. I live in Europe and for some reason the supplier/manufacturer in Belgium has given a few of the colours different names than the rest of the world. I don’ really understand why. For example, my Old Linen is actually Coco. I also have a few colours that you don’t have–example, Amsterdam Green. I have had Antoinette for months but it was just released to the rest of the world not too long ago. But on the down side- I just got Paloma a few weeks ago. The paint is still Annie Sloan Chalk Paint™ but a few of the names are different.

      1. Thank You! I agree with you it doesn’t make much sense at all to have different names for your paints in different countries unless it’s a marketing ploy…

        None the less – your work on that dresser is amazing and thank you for sharing! 🙂

  8. Truly beautiful job! I LOVE the colors – and you’re right…picking the color IS the hardest part! I am just beginning to experiment with ASCP and wax. I want to do one of my vintage pieces in the colors you used here. You used White Linen and Old Linen on the drawers and top which looks like the dark wax darkened quite a bit, but what is the creamy white color? Thank you for the step-by-step info too! I need it. I can’t wait to re-do my vintage buffet 🙂

    1. I just saw a few comments up that Old Linen is actually Coco (here in the US)…this makes more sense as I am familiar with Coco, but wasn’t with Old Linen. It’s confusing that they name them differently depending on location. I am still curious about the creamy white though 🙂

      1. Emily, White linen is actually Original. Luckily my distributer has now switched paint manufacturers so all the names will now be the same. Good luck with your buffet!

    1. Cheri, I painted the sides first in old white then I used masking tape to create the stripes. Then I used Coco and painted. I usually take the tape off quite soon after painting and once it was dry I sanded with about 120 grit paper all over the sides. I sanded here before waxing because I wanted it to be very smooth and quite distressed looking. On the drawers I sanded after waxing.
      Good luck!

  9. No way that the stripes should have been horizontal. You’ve created a phenomenally vintage feel to it by keeping the stripes vertical. If you don’t mind, i will copy your idea,because it is soo lovely!

  10. ive been looked at many many tutorials for guidance, and yours is by far the best! I may have the courage to try it out now. I have a question…..on the piece you are showing, did you use 2 different colors ? what color did you use for the top of the chest and drawer facing? color for the side/edges? thx so much! Leah from alabama

      1. great….im almost ready…one other question….what type brushes do i need? does brand matter?

      2. If you are doing a more country style then use a natural bristle brush but if you want more of a smooth modern finish then use a synthetic bristle brush so there won’t be any lines. I also water down my paint so it has a consistency of yoghurt. Use a good quality brush so you don’t have to constantly pick out hairs from your paint.

  11. hello I need help ,, I’am using chalk paint since a year. The first furniture I did was a old buffet year 1930-40 I cover it with pure white but it turn kind of overwhite did mind It is beautiful. But Now I want to paint my bedroom with again pure white and this time I really want with but I have the same probleme again it turn offwhite ..ANY SUGESTION… Thanks

    1. The problem is that the stain in the wood is bleeding through the paint. If this happens after one coat of paint you need to apply a layer of poly or shellac to seal in the stain, then do another coat of white and then wax. This is a common problem with furniture of the 30’s and 40’s.

      1. Did the you paint the hardware with chalk paint or with spray paint? Looks great and wonderful to reuse what you have!

Leave a Reply

