Busy and busting at the seams!

It has been a while since an update.  I am pretty busy with a few things.  Painting furniture for a few clients and trying to organize items to sell at my daughters’ school for the annual Christmas bazaar.

I am going to brag here and say that we make the most money each year.  The bazaar is a charity event where all the money goes to a local orphanage for much needed items and building improvements.

Typically the parents sell sweets and stuff but I make hand made stockings (I will do a tutorial for this) and a few other decorative items.  We have done this for the past few years with great success.

So besides sewing up a storm at home I am painting at the store which is full of furniture.  I have a client that commissioned a massive buffet to be painted duck egg blue and old white.  She really liked the one I did previously and actually wanted to buy it but somebody else scooped it up before her!

So the painting is done- and this huge thing is in the middle of my store waiting to go to its new home in the country.

Here is the beast- it is so big I can’t even get one full shot of it.

It has lovely details on it.  Lots of carvings and cabriole legs and the thing is solid- as my Nana used to say  “heavy as a dead priest”

Duck egg blue is the main colour with Old White on the details.   It was then waxed, distressed then waxed again with clear and dark wax.

The carved back detail.

I found this really cute Amy Butler wallpaper at my local diy store so I scooped up a few rolls for the drawers and shelves.

I am so glad this piece is done- it was really big to work on.  I couldn’t put it on a table so it was difficult to paint some parts of it.  Now fingers crossed my client likes it!!

13 thoughts on “Busy and busting at the seams!

  1. Beautiful job with the buffet. The colour combination is wonderful.
    Good luck with the Christmas charity sale.
    I´m following you now, so I´ll be looking out for the stocking tutorial.
    All the best from Annie Sloan´s frontier in Sweden.
    //Sarah

  2. I love your dresser!! I’ve come back to take a look twice this week. Now I’m resolved, I have to try this. Only hey dont stock Annie Sloane paint in South Africa and to order it, with our terrible exchange rate would cost me upwards of ten times the price (ouch) :-). Can I ask you a really big favour – could you talk me through it with ordinary acrylic paint? I’d really appreciate it!!

Leave a Reply

