Side table for the tween

When we moved into our new house I did a lot of scrambling trying to buy furniture for my daughters’ rooms.  The two of them had shared a room in our old house and to say it was cramped is an understatement.  They had bunk beds which took up a lot of the space….and there was not much else.

So I bought some furniture, that looking back, probably wasn’t the best choice.  Fast forward a year and I have my own store with Annie Sloan Chalk Paint- perfect. It couldn’t be easier and cheaper to update a few things.

So my eldest has this side table:

This table in the photo is actually oak- she has the same one but in mahogany.  The carvings are quite clear in this photo- in the mahogany they are not as visable.

She didn’t like it at all- I think more than anything she wanted to paint it.  Well, she is twelve and I was painting stuff when I was her age too- so why not?

So they got down to it.

Very serious work.

So they painted two coats of ASCP in Versailles.  This was Saturday.

Today I waxed and distressed.  Then I added a second layer of wax mixed with a touch of Country Grey.  This is a technique I learned at Annie Sloan’s shop in Oxford.

After the first waxing which revealed the mahogany- to my eye the contrast between the paint and dark wood seemed a bit artificial to me- so I added the Country Grey to the wax which softened the contrast.

I think it looks pretty good.

It really does have a lot of nice carving details in it which are now visible with the paint and wax technique.

Now I wonder if the girls have the painting bug?

Leave a Reply

