Cute little cabinet

This piece of furniture comes from the 20’s.  It is quite common in this part of the world.  It is oak with raised panels- very square shaped- I come across a lot of furniture in this style while on my searches.

I am a bit stumped as to what it may have been used for.  There are two doors on the front and a door on either side- four doors for such a small piece.  It doesn’t have any signs that may indicate that it was part of a larger piece- and there is a hole on the side.

I painted using Annie Sloan’s Grey Linen- great colour.  This colour seems to change slightly depending on what is under it.  I painted a table with this same colour and the table is a slightly lighter shade.

I painted the inset frame Old White and gave it a good distressing followed by wax and buffing.

I kept the little knobs- they are so cute!  I just wiped some bronze antiquing wax over them and the hinges as well.  I decoupaged decorative paper inside- it is not dry in these photos so it looks a little sloppy.

Here is the side with the hole in it….makes me wonder!

I have got five more pieces being sent to me and two of them are chairs that have upholstery….I should be busy for a while!

2 thoughts on “Cute little cabinet

Leave a Reply

