Another sheet music piece….

I am really not obsessed with this- there is method to my madness.

I have been putting some of my pieces on the Polish version of Ebay which is called Allegro.  It is a country wide shopping mall- there seems to be more new stuff than used stuff on there and it is a great way to reach a large population with one click.  I have been getting an amazing response with the sideboard that had sheet music on the door fronts- this is how I received a request to do my first commissioned piece.

My store has only been open for close to three weeks and I have sold quite a few things, there is a lot of interest in what I am doing- particularly in the furniture with sheet music- so….I figured doing another piece is a good way to attract clients to the store.  If many people are interested in it, perhaps some might make the trip to the store to see what else I have here.

I bought this piece on Allegro.  It is the upper half of a hutch.  Here is the before:

It is smaller than I originally thought it was.  The measurements were listed when I bought it but for some reason I had it in my head that it was larger.  The wood is in good shape- but the back and shelves are different than the front and sides.  I was originally going to paint the interior a different colour….then I came back to the sheet music- for the reason I explained.

This is what I decided:

I painted it with Annie Sloan’s Country Grey and gave it a good distressing.  I put the sheet music on the back which, of course, is visible through the glass.

I think it came out great- I showed the before and after to my carpenter to which he replied,  “it is not possible!!”

I could really see this hanging in a bathroom displaying antique perfume bottles, pretty soaps a big glass jar with cotton balls.

(once again I must thank Miss Mustard Seed for bringing this idea to my world)

Leave a Reply

